Home » Accreditation


Accreditation in higher education is a process of external review (through peer evaluation), that allows for quality assurance of colleges, universities and educational programs.  Through the process of accreditation, schools and programs are better able to develop standards and channels for self-examination.

Georgetown University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104.  The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.  The Middle States region includes the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Accreditation is essential, as it instills confidence in the University’s mission, goals, performance and resources through the enforcement of its rigorous standards.  Accreditation is a requirement for the University’s access to federal financial aid dollars and is a marker of prestige of the University.  Additionally, the self-study process involved in accreditation is an opportunity for in-depth analysis of the University’s strengths and areas for improvement.  Student, faculty and staff input is vital to this process.

Specialized and Professional Accreditation

In addition to the University’s overall accreditation, each of Georgetown’s schools and certain programs are accredited by specialized accreditors.

Law Center

The Georgetown University Law Center is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools.

McDonough School of Business

The McDonough School of Business is fully accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).  Founded in 1916, AACSB International is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools that offer undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral degrees in business.  Only 620 schools of business, or less than 5% worldwide, have earned this distinguished hallmark of excellence in management education.  To maintain accreditation, a business program must undergo a rigorous internal review every five years, at which must demonstrate its commitment to the 21 quality standards relating to faculty qualification, strategic management of resources, interactions with faculty and students, as well as a commitment to continuous improvement and achievement of learning goals in degree programs.

School of Medicine

The Georgetown University School of Medicine is accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME).  LCME is the nationally recognized accrediting authority for medical education programs leading to the M.D. degree in U.S. and Canadian medical schools.

School of Nursing & Health Studies

The Georgetown University School of Nursing & Health Studies is accredited by the following agencies:

The Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME) for the basic certificate and graduate nurse-midwifery education programs for registered nurses.  The ACME has been recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a programmatic accrediting agency for nurse-midwifery education programs since 1982.

The Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education (CAHME) for the graduate programs in health services administration.  CAHME serves the public good through promoting, evaluating, and improving the quality of graduate healthcare management education in the United States and Canada.  CAHME is proud to be officially recognized by both the Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.  CAHME is also a member of the Association of Specialized and Professional Accreditors (ASAPA) and adheres to the ASPA Code of Good Practice.

The Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) for the nursing education programs at the baccalaureate and graduate degree levels.  Officially recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a national accreditation agency, CCNE is an autonomous accrediting agency, contributing to the improvement of the public’s health.  CCNE ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency programs in nursing.

The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs for nurse anesthesia programs at the certificate and master’s degree programs.  Founded in 1931, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) is the professional association representing more than 40,000 Certified Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) and student nurse anesthetists nationwide.


Georgetown University is certified by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) as a Division I school.  The NCAA is a membership organization of colleges and universities that participate in intercollegiate athletics.  Its primary purpose is to maintain intercollegiate athletics as an integral part of the educational program and the athlete as an integral part of the student body.  Activities of the NCAA membership include formulating rules of play for NCAA sports, conducting national championships, adopting and enforcing standards of eligibility and studying all phases of intercollegiate athletics.